Sharing Care work has improved my family relationship

For the first time ever, I have spent 90% of my time doing household work. I must say that home daily chores take up a lot of time!

Since the lockdown, I have been at home supporting my wife with Care work.

My name is Morrish Towongo,30 years oldand a refugee from the Central Equatorial region of South Sudan. I am currently settled in Ocea C Village, West Nile Region where I live with my wife, two children and other two dependants.

Before the corona virus pandemic, I worked as a care giver supporting children in child friendly spaces with one of the humanitarian agencies. Unfortunately,my contract was terminated following the lock-down,so I do not have a paid job now.
 

  • My day starts with fetching water and watering crops, I then sweep the compound, prepare porridge and bathe the children. Once we have had breakfast, I wash the dishes and later clothes which I also iron. I then watch over the children or continue helping as required. Even when I help, my wife still has work like cleaning the house, cooking lunch and supper among other chores.

    Sharing this work has really helped a lot. We now finish doing chores early and have some time to relax. Because I am now involved, especially in taking care of the children, I feel that my two sons now love me more and enjoy spending time with me. Before they were always closer to their mother.

    Although I have enjoy spending time home with my family, it has been difficult providing the basic needs as I no longer have an income.

    Despite the challenges this corona virus has brought, Iam grateful that I was able to involve myself in care work. I realised how overloaded women get with all this work. Our family relationship has improved, and I feel that my wife and I are even closer than before. I really encourage other couples to share this care work even after the lockdown because it’s one of the ways to show that you care for each other.